It was the official inauguration of the new helmsman of the club, Rotaract Oke Ridwan Olayemi, as the 32nd President of Unilorin Rotaract Club. The event also featured the induction of the Board of Directors, new members, and conferment of awards.

The Rotaract Club is the youth wing of Rotary International founded by Paul Percy Harris, under the sponsorship by a local Rotary Club. In this case, Unilorin Rotaract Club was sponsored by the Rotary Club of the University of Ilorin.

The event was part of the Club’s annual transition programme to a new leadership that will steer its affairs for the next Rotary Year.

The auspicious event was attended by the parents of the new president, Mr. and Mrs. Oke, the creme de la creme within its fold, sister branches of the club within Kwara state, as well as notable members of the university of Ilorin community such as Dr. D.A. Ariyoosu, Dr. L.A. Ayinla, Barr. Olugbenga Olatunji, Dr. Mahfouz A. Adedimeji (represented by Dr. Raji Shittu), Dr. Kayode I. Waheed, just to mention a few.

The programme started at 12:25p.m. with the singing of the national, Unilorin, and Club anthems. Thereafter, the 4 Way Test, purpose and goals of the Club were briefly explained to the audience.

In his valedictory speech, the immediate past 31st President, Rtr. Oyewunmi Kamaldeen, thanked members for supporting his cause in the past year. In his words, “I want to appreciate the great efforts, encouragements, supports and advices (sic) been given to me by my distinguished Board of Directors and from the entire member of Rotaract Club University of Ilorin who made Be (sic) a Gift to the world a success Rotary year.”

He gave a rundown of some of the projects carried out by his administration. These projects bothered on awareness programmes, vocational training, international and community service.

In his acceptance speech titled, “Let’s Raise the Bar,” the new 32nd All Star President, Rtr. Oke Ridwan Olayemi, expressed his gratitude to all and sundry and equally gave highlights of projects to be carried out by his administration.

In his words, “We have major plans for the Club which include: the renovation of the Paul Harris Park; increasing the number of staff advisers and patrons of the Club; organising inter-faculty debate, quiz and essay competitions, maternal and child health programme…” He went further to enlist the support of the Club’s past presidents, alumni, rotaractors, and well-wishers.

Another interesting segment of the programme was the lecture delivered by the guest speaker, Barr. Olatunji Olugbenga Ajani – a lecturer at the Faculty of Law, University of Ilorin. In his lecture titled “Trapped in Waithood: How the Nigerian Youth can Actualise the Leader of Tomorrow Rhetoric,” Mr. Olatunji exposed the factors besetting youth development in Nigeria. This he did, with astonishing statistical evidence to corroborate his analogy.

He also addressed the culpability of the youth in his discourse. He rounded off his lecture proferring a solution to the subject matter – much to the satisfaction of the audience.

Awards were conferred on distinguished personalities like Dr. Kayode I. Waheed, and the Director, Centre for Peace and Strategic Studies, University of Ilorin, Dr. Mahfouz A. Adedimeji.

Other awardees such as the Vice Chancellor of the University of Ilorin, Prof. AbdulGaniyu Ambali (OON), and the CEO of WAZBELLE Skincare & Spa, Mrs. Winniefred Aishat Zubair, were unavoidably absent.

Certificates and special medals were presented to the immediate past members of the Board of Directors, and vibrant members of the Club.

The programme came to a close at 4:33p.m. with singing, merrymaking and dancing by members and invited guests alike. Donation of food and other materials were made to the less privileged around the Tanke area of Ilorin city, Kwara state.

Submit your View

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.