The National Universities Commission (NUC) has given a nod to the Federal University of Oye-Ekiti (FUOYE) to run 18 new programmes.

The approval was contained in a letter dated November 14, 2016 and addressed to the Vice Chancellor, Prof Kayode Shoremekun. It follows a visit by the regulation body to assess the preparedness of the university to run the programmes.

The approved programmes, which the letter, signed by Dr G. D. Kumo, Director, Academic Standards, directed should be run in full-time mode only, include:

  1. Public Administration
  2. Business Administration
  3. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  4. Business Education
  5. Educational Management
  6. Library and Information Science
  7. Hospitality and Tourism Management
  8. Mass Communication
  9. Accounting.
  10. Banking and Finance
  11. Education/Agricultural Science
  12. Education/Biology
  13. Education/Chemistry
  14. Education/Mathematics
  15. Education/English
  16. Criminology and Security Studies
  17. Political Science
  18. History and International Studies.

The programmes will start running with effect from the 2016/2017 academic session.
Shoremekun, who expressed joy at the approval of the programmes, added that the university is making plans to establish a faculty of pharmacy.

“The Faculty of Pharmacy Committee which I inaugurated in April has turned in its report. The Committee was chaired by a renowned Professor of Pharmacy, Adebayo Lamikanra. This means that very soon after approvals by the University Senate and NUC, the University will have a Faculty of Pharmacy,” he said.

Submit your View

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.