Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta Students’ Representative Council, SRC will today screen about 20 applicants seeking to become members of Students’ Union Electoral Committee.

Information from Press Club revealed that the Students’ Union election date would be decided after the screening of the SUELECO members.

It was also gathered that the SRC had at a sitting last Wednesday presided over by the Speaker, Chuks Ogali short-listed the 20 candidates out of the numerous applicants. Press Club could however not confirm how many candidates applied to become members of the electoral committee.

It was disclosed by a source that the SRC will be short-listing  four candidates each from the five schools.

The schools include School of Business and Management Studies (SBMS), School of Science and Technology (SST), School of Engineering (SENG), School of Communication and Information Technology (SCIT) and the School of Environmental Studies (SENV).

The source who preferred not to be named also said those rejected by the House failed to meet academic qualifications for such posts among other things.

“Yes…some were screened out based on their academic qualifications and some shown low level of understand towards the election task.

“The mode of screening is academic standing of 3.00 and an application letter stating their intention on why they want to be part of the SUELECO,” he said.


Submit your View

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.